☰ Revisor of Missouri


Chapter 139

< > Effective - 28 Aug 1949    bottom

  139.270.  Refusal to pay — forfeiture — distress warrant. — 1.  If any county collector, or ex officio county collector, fails or refuses to pay the taxes and license fees into the county treasuries and to the director of revenue as provided in section 139.210, he shall forfeit his commissions on the amount wrongfully withheld and in addition shall pay a penalty of ten percent of the amount wrongfully withheld.

  2.  The director of revenue within thirty days shall issue a distress warrant for such state taxes and penalties, and the prosecuting attorney within thirty days shall proceed to collect the county, school, road and municipal taxes by suit on the official bond of the defaulting collector.


(RSMo 1939 § 11099, A.L. 1945 p. 1907, A. 1949 S.B. 1024)

Prior revisions: 1929 § 9928; 1919 § 12920; 1909 § 11474

---- end of effective  28 Aug 1949 ----

use this link to bookmark section  139.270

Click here for the Reorganization Act of 1974 - or - Concurrent Resolutions Having Force & Effect of Law
In accordance with Section 3.090, the language of statutory sections enacted during a legislative session are updated and available on this website on the effective date of such enacted statutory section. Revisor Home    

Other Information
 Recent Sections Editorials May Be Cited As Tables & Forms Multiple Enact
Repeal & Transfer Definitions End Report

Site changes Pictures Contact

Other Links
Legislative Research Oversight MOLIS
Library MO WebMasters
Missouri Senate
State of Missouri
Missouri House