☰ Revisor of Missouri


Chapter 233

< > Effective - 28 Aug 1993    bottom

  233.040.  Commissioners of special road district — appointment — term — qualifications — election, when — oaths. — 1.  The mayor and members of the city council of any city or town within any special road district thus organized, together with the members of the county commission of the county in which said district is located, at a meeting to be held in the meeting place of the county commission, at which meeting the presiding commissioner of the county commission shall preside and the county clerk shall act as clerk, within two weeks after the voters within the territory of such proposed district shall adopt the provisions of sections 233.010 to 233.165, shall, by order of record to be kept by the county clerk, appoint a board of commissioners composed of three persons, designating one to serve for three years, one for two years and one for one year, and in February every year thereafter one special road district commissioner shall be appointed as above specified, to serve for three years.  However, beginning in 1994, the commissioner whose appointment will expire in February, 1994, shall serve until the first Tuesday in April of that year at which time a commissioner shall be elected to hold office for three years and until a successor is elected, commissioned, and qualified.  Those commissioners whose terms expire in 1995 or 1996 shall serve until the first Tuesday in April in 1995 or 1996, respectively, at which time a commissioner shall be elected to hold office for three years and until a successor is elected, commissioned, and qualified to replace each commissioner.  All subsequent commissioners shall be elected at the appropriate election held on the first Tuesday in April for three-year terms.  An appointee shall be eligible to file for election as commissioner.  The nominations and elections shall be governed by the provisions of law relating to the nomination and election of persons on a nonpartisan basis at such elections.  All such commissioners shall be resident taxpayers of the district, and shall serve until their successors are appointed or elected and qualified, with vacancies to be filled by the county commission.  Resignations shall be to the county clerk.  Removal from the district shall create a vacancy.

  2.  Such commissioners, before entering upon the discharge of their duties, shall take oath of office, to be administered by the clerk of the county commission.


(RSMo 1939 § 8675, A.L. 1993 S.B. 236)

Prior revisions: 1929 § 8026; 1919 § 10802; 1909 § 10578

---- end of effective  28 Aug 1993 ----

use this link to bookmark section  233.040

Click here for the Reorganization Act of 1974 - or - Concurrent Resolutions Having Force & Effect of Law
In accordance with Section 3.090, the language of statutory sections enacted during a legislative session are updated and available on this website on the effective date of such enacted statutory section. Revisor Home    

Other Information
 Recent Sections Editorials May Be Cited As Tables & Forms Multiple Enact
Repeal & Transfer Definitions End Report

Site changes Pictures Contact

Other Links
Legislative Research Oversight MOLIS
Library MO WebMasters
Missouri Senate
State of Missouri
Missouri House