☰ Revisor of Missouri


Chapter 643

< > Effective - 28 Aug 2011    bottom

  643.040.  Air conservation commission created — members, terms, expenses, meetings. — 1.  There is created hereby an air pollution control agency to be known as the "Air Conservation Commission of the State of Missouri", whose domicile for the purposes of sections 643.010 to 643.355 is the department of natural resources of the state of Missouri.  The commission shall consist of seven members appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate.  No more than four of the members shall belong to the same political party and no two members shall be a resident of and domiciled in the same senatorial district.  At the first meeting of the commission and at yearly intervals thereafter, the members shall select from among themselves a chairman and a vice chairman.

  2.  All members shall be representative of the general interest of the public and shall have an interest in and knowledge of air conservation and the effects and control of air contaminants.  At least three of such members shall represent agricultural, industrial and labor interests, respectively.  The governor shall not appoint any other person who has a substantial interest as defined in section 105.450 in any business entity regulated under this chapter or any business entity which would be regulated under this chapter if located in Missouri.  The commission shall establish rules of procedure which specify when members shall exempt themselves from participating in discussions and from voting on issues before the commission due to potential conflict of interest.

  3.  The members' terms of office shall be four years and until their successors are selected and qualified, except that the terms of those first appointed shall be staggered to expire at intervals of one, two and three years after the date of appointment as designated by the governor at the time of appointment.  There is no limitation of the number of terms any appointed member may serve.  If a vacancy occurs the governor may appoint a member for the remaining portion of the unexpired term created by the vacancy.  The governor may remove any appointed member for cause.  The members of the commission shall be reimbursed for travel and other expenses actually and necessarily incurred in the performance of their duties.

  4.  The commission shall hold at least nine regular meetings each year and such additional regular meetings as the chairman deems desirable at a place and time to be fixed by the chairman.  Special meetings may be called by three members of the commission upon delivery of written notice to each member of the commission.  Reasonable written notice of all meetings shall be given to all members of the commission.  Four members of the commission shall constitute a quorum.  All powers and duties conferred upon members of the commission shall be exercised personally by the members and not by alternates or representatives.  All actions of the commission shall be taken at meetings open to the public, except as provided in chapter 610.  Any member absent from four regular commission meetings per calendar year for any cause whatsoever shall be deemed to have resigned and the vacancy shall be filled immediately in accordance with subsection 1 and subsection 3 of this section.


(L. 1965 p. 335 § 4, A.L. 1972 H.B. 1184, A.L. 1992 S.B. 544, A.L. 1994 S.B. 590, A.L. 1998 H.B. 1601, et al., A.L. 2011 H.B. 89)


Nonseverability clause, 640.099

---- end of effective  28 Aug 2011 ----

use this link to bookmark section  643.040

Click here for the Reorganization Act of 1974 - or - Concurrent Resolutions Having Force & Effect of Law
In accordance with Section 3.090, the language of statutory sections enacted during a legislative session are updated and available on this website on the effective date of such enacted statutory section. Revisor Home    

Other Information
 Recent Sections Editorials May Be Cited As Tables & Forms Multiple Enact
Repeal & Transfer Definitions End Report

Site changes Pictures Contact

Other Links
Legislative Research Oversight MOLIS
Library MO WebMasters
Missouri Senate
State of Missouri
Missouri House