☰ Revisor of Missouri


Chapter 190

< > Effective - 28 Aug 2022    bottom

  190.257.  Advisory committee, time-critical diagnosis — recommendations to department — members. — 1.  There is hereby established the "Time-Critical Diagnosis Advisory Committee", to be designated by the director for the purpose of advising and making recommendations to the department on:

  (1)  Improvement of public and professional education related to time-critical diagnosis;

  (2)  Engagement in cooperative research endeavors;

  (3)  Development of standards, protocols, and policies related to time-critical diagnosis, including recommendations for state regulations; and

  (4)  Evaluation of community and regional time-critical diagnosis plans, including recommendations for changes.

  2.  The members of the committee shall serve without compensation, except that the department shall budget for reasonable travel expenses and meeting expenses related to the functions of the committee.

  3.  The director shall appoint sixteen members to the committee from applications submitted for appointment, with the membership to be composed of the following:

  (1)  Six members, one from each EMS region, who are active participants providing emergency medical services, with at least:

  (a)  One member who is a physician serving as a regional EMS medical director;

  (b)  One member who serves on an air ambulance service;

  (c)  One member who resides in an urban area; and

  (d)  One member who resides in a rural area; and

  (2)  Ten members who represent hospitals, with at least:

  (a)  One member who is employed by a level I or level II trauma center;

  (b)  One member who is employed by a level I or level II STEMI center;

  (c)  One member who is employed by a level I or level II stroke center;

  (d)  One member who is employed by a rural or critical access hospital; and

  (e)  Three physicians, with one physician certified by the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) or American Osteopathic Board of Emergency Medicine (AOBEM) and two physicians employed in time-critical diagnosis specialties at a level I or level II trauma center, STEMI center, or stroke center.

  4.  In addition to the sixteen appointees, the state EMS medical director shall serve as an ex officio member of the committee.

  5.  The director shall make a reasonable effort to ensure that the members representing hospitals have geographical representation from each district of the state designated by a statewide nonprofit membership association of hospitals.

  6.  Members appointed by the director shall be appointed for three-year terms.  Initial appointments shall include extended terms in order to establish a rotation to ensure that only approximately one-third of the appointees will have their term expire in any given year.  An appointee wishing to continue in his or her role on the committee shall resubmit an application as required by this section.

  7.  The committee shall consult with the state advisory council on emergency medical services, as described in section 190.101, regarding issues involving emergency medical services.


(L. 2022 H.B. 2331)

---- end of effective  28 Aug 2022 ----

use this link to bookmark section  190.257

Click here for the Reorganization Act of 1974 - or - Concurrent Resolutions Having Force & Effect of Law
In accordance with Section 3.090, the language of statutory sections enacted during a legislative session are updated and available on this website on the effective date of such enacted statutory section. Revisor Home    

Other Information
 Recent Sections Editorials May Be Cited As Tables & Forms Multiple Enact
Repeal & Transfer Definitions End Report

Site changes Pictures Contact

Other Links
Legislative Research Oversight MOLIS
Library MO WebMasters
Missouri Senate
State of Missouri
Missouri House