Revisor Home

previous nextEffective 28 Aug 1997

Title VI COUNTY, TOWNSHIP AND POLITICAL SUBDIVISION GOVERNMENT

  Chapter 57back to chapter 57

  57.317.  Compensation of sheriff — training program, attendance required, when, expenses, compensation (noncharter counties). — 1.  The county sheriff in any county, other than in a first classification chartered county, shall receive an annual salary computed as set forth in the following schedule.  The assessed valuation factor shall be the amount thereof as shown for the year next preceding the computation.  The provisions of this section shall not permit or require a reduction in the amount of compensation being paid for the office of sheriff on January 1, 1997.

­

Assessed Valuation Salary
$18,000,000 to 40,999,999 $36,000
41,000,000 to 53,999,999 37,000
54,000,000 to 65,999,999 38,000
66,000,000 to 85,999,999 39,000
86,000,000 to 99,999,999 40,000
100,000,000 to 130,999,999 42,000
131,000,000 to 159,999,999 44,000
160,000,000 to 189,999,999 45,000
190,000,000 to 249,999,999 46,000
250,000,000 to 299,999,999 48,000
300,000,000 to 449,999,999 50,000
450,000,000 to 599,999,999 52,000
600,000,000 to 749,999,999 54,000
750,000,000 to 899,999,999 56,000
900,000,000 to 1,049,999,999 58,000
1,050,000,000 to 1,199,999,999 60,000
1,200,000,000 to 1,349,999,999 62,000
1,350,000,000 and over 64,000

­

  2.  Two thousand dollars of the salary authorized in this section shall be payable to the sheriff only if the sheriff has completed at least twenty hours of classroom instruction each calendar year relating to the operations of the sheriff's office when approved by a professional association of the county sheriffs of Missouri unless exempted from the training by the professional association.  The professional association approving the program shall provide a certificate of completion to each sheriff who completes the training program and shall send a list of certified sheriffs to the treasurer of each county.  Expenses incurred for attending the training session may be reimbursed to the county sheriff in the same manner as other expenses as may be appropriated for that purpose.

  3.  The county sheriff in any county, other than a first classification charter county, shall not, except upon two-thirds vote of all the members of the salary commission, receive an annual compensation less than the total compensation being received for the office of county sheriff in the particular county for services rendered or performed on the date the salary commission votes.

­­--------

(L. 1987 S.B. 65, et al. § 4, A.L. 1988 S.B. 431, A.L. 1997 S.B. 11)


< end of effective 28 Aug 1997 >

use this link to bookmark section 57.317


In accordance with Section 3.090, the language of statutory sections enacted during a legislative session are updated and available on this website on the effective date of such enacted statutory section. Revisor Home    

Other Information
 Recent Sections Editorials May Be Cited As Tables & Forms Multiple Enact
Repeal & Transfer Definitions

Site changes Contact
Other Links
Oversight Library MO WebMasters
Senate
Missouri Senate
State of Missouri
MO.gov
House
Missouri House
 Errors / suggestions - WebMaster@LR.mo.gov 
Marie Elizabeth Oliver
History and Fun Facts
 ©Missouri Legislature, all rights reserved.
google bing

 15